My Gear

Me Being a tech guy i love reading about what type of gear photogs are carrying. so hopefully a few of you will care to read what im hauling around this summer.

Mamiya C220

Mamiya C220

the mamyia c220 is going to be my primary film portrait camera this summer, it shoots 6×6 MF pictures, on it is a standard (90mm?) lens F:2.8. this unfortunately is not mine, it is my school and i am fortunate to borrow it for the summer.

Mamiya RB67

Mamiya RB67

moving along is the mamiya RB67, this is going to be my primary film still life camera, it shoots 6×7 MF pictures, and the film back rotates to switch from landscape to portrait mode, on top is a prism viewfinder, on it lens wise is a 90mm F:3.8 lens. this camera is mine but weights about 20 pounds so i wont always be carrying it since i have other cameras. this is for sale BTW

Nikkormat 35mm

Nikkormat 35mm

my nikkomatt is my 35mm camera, for all around shooting since i have a slew of lenses for it, for all situations

Nikon D60

Nikon D60

sorry this is taken off the internet, but i didnt have a second digital camera to take a picture of my digital camera, but this is what my d60 looks like.

50mm F:1.4

50mm F:1.4

standard 50mm F:1.4 standard manual lens, wide aperture for low light great lens

28mm F:2.8

28mm F:2.8

wide angle 28mm F:2.8 this stay on my camera almost all the time, its got a wide aperture for low light and the wide angleness of the lens allows me not to have to back up 50 feet to take a landscape picture.

55mm F:3.5 macro

55mm F:3.5 macro

my 55mm F:3.5 macro lens is decent but i dont use it much, i have it just in case i need to get extremely close but since i just picked up two new lenses this one got kicked out and will probably not be in the bag this summer unless i am shooting my infrared film or my iso 25 film.

105mm F:2.5

105mm F:2.5

this the other thing i am borrowing from school this summer, its a decent portrait lens for 35mm cameras, with a wide aperture and telephoto-ness of it to blur out the background and compress features of the face it will make for a good portrait lens (i might have just repeated myself but oh well)

50mm F:1.8

50mm F:1.8

this will be on my digital camera most of the time, its sharp as hell, focuses fast, and the wide aperture is amazing.

18-55mm F:3.5-5.6

18-55mm F:3.5-5.6

this 18-55mm F:3.5-5.6 used to be on my camera all the time but nikon is cheap and made the mount on it out of plastic, me being too rough on my gear broke the mount on it so now if i want to use it i need tape, since i bought the 50mm F:1.8 i dont use the 18-55mm unless i need to go wide angle and dont have time to guess metering or focus

55-200mm F:4-5.6

55-200mm F:4-5.6

i used to use this lens for portraits but since i got the 50mm i dont really need it for that, now itll just be used if i need to get close to something that i cant walk to or dont have time to walk to.

Nikon SB-700

Nikon SB-700

thw sb-700 isnt used much, i try not use flash that much because i find natural lighting can look better until you start using studio strobes which i dont own, so the flash is mainly used for occasional flash fill and at night when there just isnt enough light

promaster 5 in 1

promaster 5 in 1

i would rather use this 5 in 1 instead of the flash to make better lighting, it has silver, gold, and white side to fill in shadows a black side to increase shadows and then a translucent side to diffuse harsh lighting

MISC 1

MISC 1

this is some miscellaneous stuff i keep in the front pocket of my bag: a cable release for the film camera to cut down on camera shake, black tape for whenever usually the 18-55mm lens, my battery charger and extra battery, a mini tripod for when i need to get low, or set up on a wall, a microfiber cloth for cleaning, a lanyard that with a USB drive, a flashlight, and another microfiber cloth, and then a headlamp which i have found to come in hand a lot.

MISC 2

MISC 2

this is more miscellaneous stuff i keep in the front pocket of my bag: a tv hookup cable for my d60 to share pictures whenever, the cable for my charger, a usb cable for camera to computer uploading for if the card reader is broken or lost, an extra 52mm UV filter which is on all my lenses incase i break one of them, a notepad and pens for jotting down ideas or contact info or passing notes whatever, ive got a stack of SD cards 4 of them are 8 gigs and 1 is 1 gig for a total of 25 gigs of cards, ive never needed that much on a trip but just in case. then i also have a card reader which is 100 times faster than uploading from the camera get one if you dont have one.

computing gear

computing gear

as for computering gear i have a 2008 macbook with 1 gig of ram and a 120GB internal hard drive. all my photos are kept on the 500GB iomega external hard drive because they wont fit on the internal one. all my photos are processed through apples aperture 3 which is great for editing and organizing

camera bag

camera bag

all of this except the RB67 is kept in my lowepro 400AW bag, as you can tell it can hold a lot including my big tripod, and it has a rain cover for those unfortunate times you get caught in the rain, its happened to me which was the main reason i got this bag.

tripod

tripod

lastly is my tripod, its a promaster something, its not amazing because it barely holds my RB67 but its something good to travel with, tripods make for better photos and it works fine with my digital, 35mm, and the mamiya c220 so 3 outta 4 cameras arnt to bad
hopefully if your a techie you enjoyed this
until later
crobsee

About crosby stills and flash

I'm 17 and going into my senior year of high school. I shoot film and digital. i have a nikon d60, a mamiya rb67 (for sale make an offer), and a 35mm nikkormatt. enjoy the photos
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

